Friday, September 29, 2023
Home FA Cup

FA Cup

What is FA Cup?

Of all the football tournaments from all corners of the world, none are quite as filled with traditions as the FA Cup.

The knockout tournament was set up in the 1871-72 term of the Football League, making it the oldest association affiliated football tournament in the world; the first edition was won by Wanderers and included 15 clubs, of which Crystal Palace were one.

Its uniqueness is based in the variety of the teams involved, with any club in the top 10 tiers of the English football system eligible to take part and possibly make their way to the final at Wembley Stadium.

Previously, winning the tournament was a priority for the outfits competing and for those who claimed the title. However, in the latest years, the growth of the UEFA Champions League and the Premier League have prompted the A-list into placing their priorities somewhere else.

The system of the FA Cup hasn’t deviated too much in its existence. Qualifying rounds were put in place back in 1889 for those outfits outside the Football League, while those in the top four divisions of the system take their place in the competition proper.

The 128 clubs who make it into Round 1 playoff in a direct knockout format. The champion throws the hat into the next round, where another draw will take place to find out which teams come up versus each other; the tournament isn’t played out in a bracket.

Who are the traditional favourites?

Arsenal have lifted the most FA Cup trophies in history, with seven of them coming under their legendary head coach Arsene Wenger.

The Gunners won their first final back in 1930 and since then the north Londoners have added 13 more to their trophy cabinet.

2016 FA Cup winners Manchester United are second in the list of most FA Cup final wins.

The Red Devils have won 12 FA Cups, with the club’s first title coming back in 1909. They also hold the record of most defeats in the final on eight occasions.

Chelsea have won FA Cups eight times with the recent one coming three years ago.

The PL 2020-21 champions Manchester City have won six FA Cups. The Citizens first got their hands on this trophy in 1904.

FA Cup 2021/22 season (odds)

Manchester City 7/2

Chelsea 6/1

Manchester United 6/1

Liverpool 7/1

Arsenal 12/1

Leicester 12/1

Tottenham 12/1

Popular articles

Ronnie Dog Media Comm. V.
Emiel Hertecantlaan 19a 9290 Berlare - Belgium // BTW
(VAT) BE 0693988181

Contact us: [email protected]

© Copyright 2023 - Ronnie Dog Media All Rights Reserved.